” The new novel from the bestselling author. Journalist Kitty Logan’s career is being destroyed by scandal – and now she faces losing the woman who guided and taught her everything she knew. At her terminally ill friend’s bedside, Kitty asks – what is the one story she always wanted to write? The answer lies in a file buried in Constance’s office: a list of one hundred names. There is no synopsis, nothing to explain what the story is or who these people are. The list is simply a mystery. But before Kitty can talk to her friend, it is too late. With everything to prove, Kitty is assigned the most important task of her life: to write the story her mentor never had the opportunity to. Kitty not only has to track down and meet the people on the list, but find out what connects them. And, in the process of hearing ordinary people’s stories, she starts to understand her own.” 

Summary from Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18505788-one-hundred-names

 

 

I won this galley copy from a Goodreads giveaway. I finished this book last night and decided I would sleep on it and write my review in the morning because I really have no idea what I actually think of this novel! I’ve never read a book by Cecelia Ahern, but I am familiar with the movie adaptation of her novel P.S. I Love You. When I first started reading, I was instantly intrigued, because apparently Kitty ruined her image and that of another on her show, Thirty Minutes. At this point, you don’t yet know what horrific thing she did, so I was curious and wanted to keep reading. But then I started to get bored. Kitty was very whiny, but I imagine I would be too if I came home to a vandalized flat every night…

Anyway, Kitty asks Constance what would be the one story she would write but never did? She is sent to collect a list of names from Constance’s place, but never has a chance to ask what it all means. There are 100 names on this piece of paper, and that is it. Kitty has never heard of them, but she wants to finish Constance’s last story so she pours her all into this story, meeting with as many “names” as she can.  I loved Birdie, Eva, and Ambrose’s stories the most.  I was bored with Jedreck’s story; I felt it didn’t have as much depth as the others. The reason I am not positive if I loved this novel or simply liked it is because I skimmed pages at times due to boredom, yet I couldn’t toss it aside. I wanted to finish it to see how Kitty connected the names behind the stories. I shed a tear or two when Birdie returned home and finally received what was rightfully hers, and also when Eva, the perfect gift giver, received the perfect gift from George. I’m liked how the book ended because  I felt in finding a connection with these names, Kitty finally found her story, and realized it’s not just about her writing, her name to the story in print, but whom she’s writing about.

http://www.amazon.com/One-Hundred-Names-Cecelia-Ahern-ebook/dp/B00FJ351G6/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1391186267&sr=8-2&keywords=one+hundred+names+cecelia+ahern

