SO sorry for the delayed blog post. I originally started reading the last book in a trilogy I *was* enjoying but I couldn’t get into the last one….Maybe another time. So anyway, I borrowed Divergent from a friend of my mom. We all know that dystopian novels are HUGE right now. I’ve been wanting to read Divergent for a while, and when I realized the movie was out soon, I had to jump on it! (I can’t watch a movie based off the book without reading the book first! SO WRONG.) So let’s get to it!

Divergent is set in a dystopian Chicago world, where the citizens are based off different virtues that place them in a particular faction: Candor (the honest), Abnegation (the selfless), Dauntless (the brave), Amity (the peaceful), and Erudite (the intelligent). Every year, the 16 year old citizens of each faction must decide what faction they will chose to live with for the rest of their lives. During Beatrice Prior’s testing, we find out her results are “inconclusive”… meaning she doesn’t necessarily fit into one sole faction. She is divergent Being divergent is very dangerous, yet Beatrice has no idea why. On the choosing day, Beatrice surprisingly chooses to devote herself to the Dauntless faction. She felt she was too curious and selfish to stay Abnegation. During initiation Tris (new faction, new name!) questions her choice of becoming Dauntless…she misses her family, she’s in inner turmoil over this whole divergent mess, and then there’s the elusive Four…. *swoon* After a series of ridiculously hard initiation tests, such as fighting, shooting, jumping off of moving trains… Tris ends up ranked first out of all the new initiates. After some near-death experiences, betrayal by a friend (UGH!) the celebration can begin. Except, the Erudites have something else in mind. I really wish I could elaborate more without giving spoilers…but, alas. This book is freaking fantastic. There’s action, suspense, romance (oh SNAP the romance….)   I loved the descriptions Veronica Roth used when Beatrice meets Four for the first time… “He has a spare upper lip and a full lower lip. His eyes are so deep-set that his eyelashes touch the skin under his eyebrows, and they are dark blue, a dreaming, sleeping, waiting color.” (p. 59) Uh, I’m already in love.

While reading this, I kept imagining myself as Tris…she’s small, short… gets picked on and thinks about hurting those bullies… 🙂 Sometimes though she got seriously dark and twisted, but I suppose that’s what happens in a society such as this one.  I felt all the characters were believable, I just wish I had more about Tris’s brother, Caleb, but maybe I will in the remaining books. I can’t wait to start Insurgent!

http://www.amazon.com/Divergent-Veronica-Roth-ebook/dp/B004CFA9RS/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1394549788&sr=8-2&keywords=divergent

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/13335037.Divergent

