This book…. I’m not even sure I can review this book adequately enough. This will probably be one of my shortest reviews. “I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and  then all at once.” Before I started reading, I knew it was a book about kids who have cancer. Depressing, right? Wrong. Well, somewhat wrong. Of course it was sad, but there were moments of joy, laughter, and love. *I’m cheesy, I know* This isn’t a book about kids who have cancer, or who are dying from cancer.. NO. This is a book that shows how deep love can go when you’re truly living.

Anyway, the book revolves around Hazel Grace Lancaster and Augustus Waters. The thing I loved most about this book is how real it felt. This book is a legit emotional roller coaster. I’ve seen a few reviews that remark on how the dialogue between Hazel and Gus doesn’t seem real for teens. But I think it works well in this novel because these teens have seen and felt so much in their short lives struggling with cancer. They had to stop being children earlier than they should because of their diseases. The love story between Hazel Grace and Augustus was one of the best love stories I’ve read in a while. Some people, once they are terminally diagnosed, try to live life to the fullest, and others decide that since they are dying they may as well get on with it. HG and Gus know they aren’t going to live long but that doesn’t stop them from loving each other. This story doesn’t end like a sappy romance novel, but I still enjoyed it. It isn’t your typical YA novel, either. These kids are dealing with more pressing issues than “who is going to be prom king?” They are dying, they have to think about death clothes and hooking up G-tubes and oxygen tanks and trying to keep their hearts beating and their lungs breathing! Gus wants to leave his mark on the world, be remembered by/for something, but Hazel could only care about being remembered by Gus. This was an emotional novel, but not one that left me feeling completely void of happiness. I recommend you read it, NOW! Okay? Okay. 

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/11870085-the-fault-in-our-stars

