This book received very low ratings on Goodreads, and I’m not sure why. I love it, and think it’s brilliantly awesome! Plus, just look at the gorgeous cover! elusion

https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/12369550-elusion?from_search=true

Elusion is an almost dystopian type novel. There’s still different cities and states, but it is still separated into different sectors of town, kinda like how we have the ritzy areas in my city, and the poorer communities, but there aren’t factions like in Divergent nor districts like The Hunger Games. But, the citizens have to wear O2 shields because the air is so awful, and acid rain pours down requiring special umbrellas. The premise is this: You can escape to Elusion with a special app, visor, and wristband. You can visit these special locations: Thai beaches, go mountain climbing, etc., and you can’t get hurt, nor feel anything but joy, happiness, and elation. Except, people are getting hurt. Suspicious things are happening, and Regan is determined to get to the root of it. Regan’s father, David Welch, created Elusion with the help of Regan’s best friend, Patrick. After David dies, Patrick is obviously in charge, and making Elusion the most coveted phenomenon in the world. Once Elusion is targeted for being dangerous, Regan feels she needs to find out what is really going on, because she doesn’t want to believe her father is responsible for what some people are claiming. I think this novel is spectacular. The authors created a world that I felt sucked in to, actually in Elusion, not just reading a book. The ending for me was somewhat expected, but the details of it I hadn’t really expected! (not to go into too much detail as to avoid spoilers!) As for the characters, I felt Regan was a very fleshed out character, but I would have liked to see more depth to her mom’s character. I loved the impending romance between Regan and Josh but again, would have liked more about his character too.  Overall, this has been one of my favorite books so far in 2014, and I can’t wait for the sequel! I definitely recommend you check out Elusion!

