https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/1225261.No_Time_for_Goodbye?ac=1

 

I don’t usually read thriller type “normal” (read: non fantasy/paranormal) books, but I decided to give this one a go. No Time for Goodbye tells the story of how 14 year old Cynthia wakes up to find her family gone, without a trace. Flash forward 20 years and she’s still wondering what happened to them, and why would they just leave her behind? This was a very quick read; I finished it in a few hours. While it was good in the sense that it kept me guessing all the way to the end, I wasn’t blown away by it, nor find it completely plausible. Also, some sentences had the “f” word in them multiple times, and I felt that the dialogue could have done without that much cussing. The novel could stand on it’s own without it. I also felt that several pages of description and such could have been removed because I found a lot of the pages pointless and adding no value to the novel as a whole. As for the description of this book being a thriller, I completely disagree. A mystery at best, but no keep-you-up-all-night thriller. I do give the author props on the development of Cynthia and her husband Terry because there were times I started to side with Terry and think Cynthia was just plain crazy.

