fashionista

Aven Ellis gave me the opportunity to read “Chronicles of a Lincoln Park Fashionista” (from here on just “Fashionista”) before it launches on September 10 and I couldn’t be more excited.  You can preorder it here.  Also check out her blog which lists her other books, as well as bonus scenes (which I LOVE!)

Fashionista follows the life of Avery, currently employed by Premier Airlines even though she hates to fly, but, it’s not like she really cares because she isn’t a career driven woman. She just wants a paycheck to afford her shopping habits! She’s blonde, well-dressed, and has a Starbucks card balance I’m jealous of.

When Deacon Ryan has to follow her around shooting her for a travel documentary called Arrivals & Departures, she has to put on a front of being a driven professional woman. Avery is perceived as a husband hunting fashionista, but she is really more than that. She does have dreams and goals, and she is kind and smart. I loved how her mind was always reeling with a million different questions and scenarios because I do that too. Deke wears grungy vintage t-shirts, doesn’t wear cologne, and always hides behind his videocamera. While I enjoyed going on the journey with Avery as she began to understand what she wanted in life, I didn’t really connect with her like I wanted to. Don’t get me wrong, I have a shopping addiction to rival hers, and the scene of her eating Cool Whip straight from the tub was eerily familiar…but I just didn’t have a strong connection with her. As for Deke,  with his golden brown hair and Caribbean sea-colored eyes…no wonder Avery calls him DDG-(drop dead gorgeous) I’m still trying to rack my brain for a man that I feel is perfect as Deke!  Maybe Cam Gigandet?

cam_gigandet_1233028461????

Anyway, Deke and Avery begin to grow closer as he is filming her, and he encourages her to pursue her idea for the Spa Service on the airline, even if everyone shot it down at the beginning. Avery begins to realize she actually does like her job, and it might not be so wrong to have a career! My favorite line from the book comes from when Avery realizes everything: “Life isn’t about supposed…life is about following your heart…your dreams and desires and not what you are ‘supposed’ to do, but rather what you want to do…what you need to do. It’s about doing what is going to make you a better person on the inside.” The only other reason for giving this 4.5 of 5 stars other than being unable to connect with the main character was I really wanted more from Deke and Avery’s relationship. They only realized how much they loved each other at the very end and I wanted more about them growing together as a couple because they were so freaking sweet and cute!! Aven I need bonus scenes on these two!! 😉

