*Thanks to Netgalley & St. Martin’s Press for this delightful read!*

I’ve missed writing on this blog!! I’ve been crazy busy, but today’s post is going to feature “My True Love Gave to Me!” This is a collection of twelve holiday stories that is simply delightful. For the book as a whole, I give it 4 stars, but I’m going to give mini reviews for each of the novellas. Of course, with every collection, there is going to be stories you absolutely love, ones you hate, and those you’re just “meh” about. Some of the short stories, I felt, ended way too abruptly. Overall though, I highly recommend this book!

 

mtlgtm

 

The stories in order:

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell
The Lady and The Fox by Kelly Link
Angels In The Snow by Matt de la Peña
Polaris Is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han
It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins
Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan
Krampuslauf by Holly Black
What The Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman
Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire
Welcome To Christmas, CA by Kiersten White
Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter
The Girl Who Woke The Dreamer by Laini Taylor

 

Midnights was a really sweet story, and perfect to set the holiday tone for this anthology! Midnights is set just before NYE of various years, with each one ending in Noel kissing any random girl, while his best friend, Mags, stands back and wishes it was her instead. Pretty much a cliche story, but cute nonetheless! 5*

The Lady and The Fox had a magical realism element going on, which I LOVEEE. I’ve seen various reviews from other readers saying they disliked this one, but it was one of my most favorites from the collection. This story focuses on Miranda, a goddaughter of a wealthy family, the Honeywells. Each year at Christmas, she sees Finnick on the outside looking in, but only on Christmas. Very mysterious 😉 This story was sooooo well written and intriguing. 5*

Angels in the Snow was another sweet story, with relatable characters. In this story, Shy is cat-sitting for his boss, during the Christmas vacation at his university. He can’t afford to go home, is broke as a joke, and hungry. OH, and it’s snowing like crazy. Enter upstairs neighbor, cute,  chatty Haley, and the story unfolds very sweetly! 5*

Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me was just no. It’s about Santa’s adopted human daughter, who is crushing hard on an Elf, but telling the other elves she likes this guy she met while delivering presents with Santa. -_- WHAT. Just no. I didn’t like this one, it was weird, and I didn’t get any real storyline from it. This was one of those that ended really randomly.  2*

It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown was my other favorite. 1 because it was set in my hometown! And the descriptions of Asheville were so accurate it’s awesome. The main characters are called Marigold and North. North’s family owns a Christmas tree lot. Marigold makes videos, and needs North’s voice in a video for her mom. Marigold is having a hard time at home as it’s just her and her mom, but North swoops in and saves the day. This story was just perfect. 5*

Your Temporary Santa seemed pointless to me. I didn’t really get anything out of this one. 2*

Krampuslauf was pretty weird, but I liked it. Had a type of magical element that really intrigued me. 4*

What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth was another winner! Sophie keeps having these WTH moments until she meets Russell. I loved the characters, and the scene in the restaurant was so sweet and perfect and ahhh I just loved Sophie and Russel!! They just meshed so well together! 5*

Beer Buckets & Baby Jesus was just lame. I hated this one. It was really cliche, about a troublemaker and a “good girl” hitting it off. Just blah. 1*

Welcome to Christmas, CA was awesome. Maria is stuck in a town called Christmas and wants nothing more than to get the heck out. Enter super cute chef at the restaurant she works at, who can read people so well, he knows just what to cook for them before they even ask, giving the book a somewhat magical element as well. (Which I obvi love LOL) 5*

Star of Bethlehem was really cute and original in this anthology! I loved it! I think I even cried… 🙂 5*

The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer…well to come in with a bang with Rainbow Rowell’s story, the book definitely fizzled out at the end with this story. I got no sense of Christmas/Holiday spirit while reading this one, and it just seemed kind of choppy. I do love the premise of this story, but maybe not in a holiday anthology. 3*

My 2 most FAVORITES of the bunch were “The Lady and The Fox” and “It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown.”

Have you read this collection of stories? What did YOU think?

I have this on my Kindle, but I really want the print version because PINK PAGE EDGES!

 

 

 

