a cold legacy Goodreads

What darkness began, only madness can end. 

I have been waaiiiiiiting for this book to come out for what feels like ages!! I really enjoyed the first two in this series, The Madman’s Daughter, and Her Dark Curiosity. This is the final book in the Madman’s Daughter series that revolves around the life of Juliet Moreau and the repercussions of her father’s “science.” The books are full of drama, danger, suspense, thrill, romance, and gore. They are all also based around classics- The Island of Dr. Moreau, The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde, and Frankenstein.

I LOVE the main character, Juliet. She is a total bad A, strong, female lead! My other favorite character is Balthazar, one of Juliet’s fathers’ creations. He is so precious and kindhearted, but strong and willing to do whatever needed to show his loyalty. While I did like this book, I only gave it 4.5 stars instead of 5 because I didn’t care for the ending. It wasn’t necessarily a cliff-hanger but I don’t feel like loose ends got all the way tied up. If you’ve read it you know what I mean, I just want to stay spoiler-free!

The way Shepherd created the world of Juliet, Elizabeth, Hensley, Montgomery…etc… around Frankenstein was pure magic. It was superb. Not a cheesy retelling, but not a far-fetched take on the classic, but simply perfect, how she weaved the story of Elizabeth von Stein’s family into Juliet’s world. This book makes you think though. What IF you had the power and resources to bring a loved one back? If you weren’t guaranteed they would be “normal” would you still take that chance, just to have them back? Would you? Is it playing God? Is it evil or wrong? I found myself flinching at certain points in the book because the surgeries/procedures were quite gruesome and graphic, but I couldn’t look away. The way Shepherd describes certain procedures is so detailed, you feel like you’re in the laboratory watching everything unfold!

Juliet definitely struggled with some conflicting decisions, especially after a shocker about her father, but through everything she’s seen and done since book one, I feel like she accomplished what she wanted, and that was to find herself, to discover who/what she really was. You choose your own fate.  I just want more than this ending gave me!! *SOBS*

Lies, mysteries, secrets, danger, good and evil, right or wrong, magic and science, life and death… that’s what you’ll get when you read this series!! Highly recommend!

