Goodreads

I read the first book in this series, Perfect Ruin, last August and I loved it! It’s a great otherwordly, dystopian, romance packed fantasy! So needless to say, I had high hopes for book two. Unfortunately, I didn’t love it as much as the first one. You can read my review on the first book here. The Internment Chronicles tells the story of another city floating in the sky.

I felt like there was just too much random stuff thrown in and it took away from the main goal of the story, figuring out how, if possible, to get back to Internment.  Morgan and various others have escaped the floating city in their flying machine. The new world they find could have easily been described and discovered in less than 100 pages, but it kept on and on.  I was expecting more intrigue and excitement that she and her friends uncovered on the ground but I was left with a plot that kept spinning in circles. The world building at times was exciting, and it is almost like  the 1920’s mixed with the far future?!

I absolutely detested Pen in this book. I get that she was uprooted from her home, but so was everyone else! She really got on my nerves. At first I was also getting annoyed with Celeste, but I grew to like her and appreciate she and Morgan’s friendship towards the end of the book. I fell more in love with Basil than I did in book one, but then Judah has to throw a kink in things…While the plot did jump around and annoy me, there were certain revelations and secrets that were revealed that I can’t wait to see elaborated on in book three. I just wish there would have been more conclusions because it ended with a cliffhanger and the plot didn’t progress in a practical way. That said, I do still want to read the conclusion, obviously, so I can figure out what the heck happens!

*Sidenote* The new covers are hideous. -_-

