the aubrey rules

A NEW HOCKEY ROMANCE SERIES BY AVEN ELLIS! YEEEEEEEEEE! Just released today, August 26, 2015!!

 

Some of the Aubrey Rules to Live By:

*If I’m going to indulge in French fries, I must add extra time to the treadmill the next day.
*Always keep your work and private life separate.
*Being open to new experiences will never involve eating kale.
*Never, ever date a professional athlete.

For Chicago social media professional Aubrey Paige, the rules are everything. So much so that Aubrey has painstakingly written her rules for living into a polka-dot Kate Spade notebook that she carries with her at all times. It’s her personal guidebook to living her life. These rules are the Holy Grail—ones never to be broken. They guide her actions for everything, from dealing with workplace drama to finding a great guy to date. After all, these are her own rules, built from her life experiences and observations. So they have to be perfect, right?

Or are they?

Because when Aubrey meets a cute Canadian, she suddenly finds her rules being tested and challenged in ways she never dreamed possible. Beckett Riley is the shy, quiet, determined captain of the Chicago Buffaloes, a hockey team on the verge of turning the corner to becoming a winning organization. He’s Aubrey’s opposite, with so many qualities that Aubrey had listed as ones she’d never want in a man.

Yet Aubrey finds herself drawn to Beckett in ways she’s never known. And when she unexpectedly finds herself working with Beckett, she wonders if rules are meant to be broken after all . . .

 

I am a huge fan of Aven Ellis’s writing! She is my auto-read author. Literally anything this woman writes I am in love with it! She graciously emailed me a copy of the ARC and I couldn’t be more thrilled! As always, these thoughts and opinions are my own.

Aubrey has got to be my favorite female that Aven has written so far. She is awesome! She has curly red hair, is obsessed with finding her holy grail mascara, 😉 loves pastries and french fries, worries about being bloated and has to ninja move to get into her skinny jeans (uh, SAME-right over here) and just seems like a real girl you could be friends with. Aven does not make flat characters! Aubrey has a notebook where she keeps all of her rules to living her life. Yet as she begins to fall for Beckett, she has to make lots of amendments and notes to her rules, like “Never, ever date a professional athlete!” 😉

Beckett is in a word…dreamy. He’s got dark wavy hair,  is sensitive, sweet, easily embarrassed, and passionate about hockey. He’s the captain of the Chicago Buffaloes Hockey team- oh and he’s got a really cute Canadian accent! He is giving William Cumberland (the main character in Connectivity-my current fave Aven character!) a run for his money!

Beckett is a client at the Chicago Connect where Aubrey works as a social media assistant and she gets the perk of being Beckett’s coordinator for his social media accounts. They start spending more and more time together and you can just feel the romance start developing! The way they teased each other back and forth and just understood each other was just so sweet and funny. Another thing Aven does, besides making you fall in love with her characters, is make you laugh! Like fall out of your seat laughing! I love the sweet, easygoing romances and hilarious instances Aven never fails to deliver in all of her novels. I enjoy reading novels that allow me to connect and relate to the main character and I really felt that with Aubrey. I hate kale, and I freaking could live off of French fries and pastries, so she is seriously my girl! In all seriousness though, it is annoying when I read I book that I want to love but I just can’t get a grasp on the main female character, but I never have that with Aven’s books. If you are looking for a sweet, funny, and swoon-worthy novel, I recommend The Aubrey Rules!

