I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review-thank you!

I really enjoy Greek mythology, so when I saw the synopsis for this and the fact that I had a chance to read it for free and give a review, obviously I jumped on that!

Sophie Darrow moves away from home to start college and is immediately, literally, in a brand new place- another realm-not just college! I really liked how the author put a fresh new spin on the story of Hades and Persephone. It wasn’t just the same story we all know but just set in modern day, it had a lot of new ideas like reincarnation, blue oranges, and dreams that show you who you were in past lives…

The thing that bothered me the most was how slow moving I felt this book was. While I did mostly enjoy it, it took me awhile to finish because some parts dragged on.  I also felt the supporting characters fell flat. While I was disappointed with that, the story was just such a cool and unique take on the myth that I still really enjoyed it! The way the author described the Underworld really transported me to that mythical place.

I’ve seen a lot of reviews that remark on how this book didn’t seem to flow together with all of the myths and history and this and that, but it’s fiction-it was fun and unusual. Also, the author explains at the end that she didn’t focus on accuracy and there were certain ideas she liked from different cultures that she wanted to fuse together. So, if you want a “historically” accurate modern retelling of Hades and Persephone, don’t read this. If you just like Greek mythology, creative retellings, and magical freaking oranges, then read this book! I look forward to reading the next one in the series!

