the cage

Ever since I read The Madman’s Daughter, I vowed I would read anything that Megan Shepherd ever came out with. The Cage is about 6 teens that were taken to a human zoo and kept in a cage by the Kindred, who are like alien-human things. The cage has different environments that are supposed to make the teens feel at “home” on Earth. Tundra, farm, ocean…The Kindred have solid black eyes that instantly reminded me of the demons on Supernatural, they keep their emotions cloaked, and hard metal-like bodies. The 6 that were removed from their earthly home are Cora, Lucky, Rolf, Nok, Leo, Yasmine (who dies in the beginning) and then Mali, who joins the other 5 later on. The Kindred require the  6 of them to uphold 3 rules: Solve the puzzles, Stay healthy by eating the food provided to them and sleeping, and procreate by the end of 21 days. WHAAT?! They have all been paired up in terms of procreating-Lucky & Cora, Rolf & Nok, Leo & now Mali.

One of the Kindred seems different than the others-lets his emotions slip sometimes, tries to be a friend, and that is Caretaker, Cassian. Cassian, for some reason, pays more attention to Cora, and the others start to catch on. Cassian is tall, bronze, and handsome. LOL! But really, he’s like an alien, so I’m not so sure about all that, but there is definitely such an attraction between him and Cora that midway through the book I just wanted them to kiss already and fall in love, even though he isn’t hardly human…what is wrong with me?!

On to some of the characters. As with The Madman’s Daughter series, Megan’s character development is awesome. None of the characters were flat, but they weren’t over-described either. I really liked Cora. She is headstrong and brave, but she did really tick me off with the whole escaping talk. Like, even if you can escape, you don’t even know where you are, so how are you going to get back home?? I really liked Lucky as well. He was funny and sweet. Rolf was cute at first, being all nerdy and smart, but started to become a jerk. And I hated Nok from the beginning.

The world that the author created was really creative and innovative. I liked the idea of a environment that can change with mind control. The Kindred claim the 6 have been placed in this cage for their protection and all the Kindred want to do is see them thrive in the environment while they watch and research how they act and develop. Between the changing scenery, the shadowy black figures constantly watching behind the windows, headaches and lies, the 6 captives begin to go crazy. All Cora wants to do is get out and return to her home on Earth.

The ending really threw me. I totally did not see that coming. I need book 2 ASAP!!

