Summary on Goodreads

I love reading Amish fiction. Their lifestyle and tight-knit family dynamic really interests me. I especially enjoy Amish romances, and this one was wunderbaar.

In The Forgotten Recipe, Veronica Fisher is dealing with the heartache of losing her fiance Seth Lapp in a work related accident. Veronica is so heartbroken and grief stricken she feels like she has to keep herself busy, and while cleaning the attic she comes across some of her grandmother’s old recipes and sets out making raspberry pies. Eventually she sets up a roadside bake-stand since her pies are so popular!

Jason Huyard and Seth were friends and coworkers, and he blames himself for Seth’s death. Seth talked about his fiance so much that Jason felt he knew her even though they’d never met. He wants to tell Veronica he understands her pain and grief, but the instant he sees her at the bake-stand, with her beautiful light blue eyes, he can’t bring himself to mention Seth. Over time they are sharing jokes, walks, stone skipping lessons and weather reports, and becoming very close.

Veronica is afraid to ever fall in love again in fear of forgetting Seth’s memory, but Jason is so sweet, funny, and kind, it was hard to keep her heart guarded. I really liked Veronica’s sisters as they were understanding and encouraging, but wouldn’t let Veronica mope around and be unhappy, yet they weren’t forceful.

As the romance developed I found myself worrying because of Jason’s withholdings. I can understand Veronica’s anger at feeling used and lied to, but I can also understand how Jason didn’t want to scare her away after he felt they both were falling in love with each other.

Overall, this was a very enjoyable novel and I can’t wait to continue the “Amish Heirloom” series.

I received a free copy of this book via Book Look Bloggers in exchange for my honest review. All thoughts are my own.

