the raven boys

 

What would you do if you saw a boy who was destined to die, and the only reason you saw his spirit is because you either are the one who killed him, or you’re his true love?

The Raven Boys chronicles the story of 4 boys- Gansey, Adam, Ronan, and Noah, and a very non-psychic girl from a very psychic family, Blue. The boys belong to Aglionby Academy- a private, high-society school. Blue goes to your basic public school. They live in Henrietta, Virginia, a place teeming with magical/paranormal aspects.

All of the characters were superbly developed. Their present lives, backstories, physical descriptions, all of it. I think my favorite raven boy so far is Ronan, and Blue made for an excellent female protagonist. She was strong, sassy, passionate, and loyal. Gansey’s life mission is to find the corpse road/ ley line and wake Glendower- a welsh king. He who wakens Glendower can ask for anything. If you’re confused, it’s okay. I was too. You will began to understand as you read further in.

Trees that speak in Latin, little pools of water containing fish that can change with just a thought…walking through all four seasons in one place, time moving so slow that 45 minutes is really 7? What is Cabeswater? And where is Glendower?

For like 120 pages I was seriously confused and tempted to quit reading because I was so lost. I felt the book was lacking detail, or leaving out a lot of key information. But then it got GOOD, and I started to figure out what was going on! It’s funky and creepy but oh, so entertaining. I loved the relationship between all the boys, even though it seemed a little strange at times, but I really liked how they all fit together, each with their own uniqueness.

 

The writing and general world building was so descriptive and magical! While this is a pretty dark and creepy book, there’s lots of snarky sass and humor tossed in that lightens it up a touch. I love Blue and her raven boys. I can’t wait to go along with them in the remaining books!

