My three favorite stories in the collection were: “Hello! Welcome to Book Club,” “Dead Doormen,” and “My Novel is Brought to You by the Good People at Tampax.”

With sass, southern charm, snark, and a hint of malice, the short stories contained within American Housewife deliver it all. The stories are a little dark but also hilarious!

My favorite part from “My Novel is Brought to You by the Good People at Tampax”:

“Two months in, and I’ve created three apps.” “Apps?” “For people who buy my book as an e-book…the first is called Don’t Look. It’s for the overly sensitive. It blurs and turns the type red when a dog dies or a baby is born with a birth defect. Stuff like that. My second is It’s Not Okay When You Say It, and it delivers and electrical zap if the reader laughs at a racial slur. My third is Jesus Thesaurus, which replaces explicit sexual language with church words. So, when one of my characters saints a guy’s disciple, he’ll beg her to calvary his Baptists and shout amen.

This story collection is highly entertaining and makes for a quick read!

