Book Review: Cinder by Marissa Meyer-3 Stars

cinder

I find myself in the minority with my feelings on this book. It had rave reviews, and I’ve been meaning to read it for awhile….

Basically, it sounds like a fantastic concept. A fresh new take on Cinderella, set in the future, with a cyborg as the main character?! I love retellings, but this one was a little boring and a lot predictable. Set in a world after World War IV, there are earthens and luna, who live on the moon.

Cinder is a cyborg living in New Beijing. She’s a skilled mechanic, and after her adoptive father dies, is under the guardianship of a terrible woman, Adri. Her stepsister Pearl loathes her, but her younger stepsister Peony is her only human friend. I knew exactly where the plot was going from the beginning in terms of who Cinder truly was so I just couldn’t get excited about the story.

3 stars for predictability but I did like the very last of it and may continue the series to learn more about what Cinder decides to do.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.